Functional Hand Use Online – August/September 2021

AUD $583.00

31 SEATS LEFT

Event Date:
Start: August 24, 2021 ,
End: September 1, 2021 ,
Time Zone: GMT+10

Description

COURSE DESCRIPTION

This comprehensive, practical and interactive online training course across 4 sessions focuses on the implementation of evidence-based interventions for children with unilateral cerebral palsy (CP). Using the latest evidence and knowledge from scientific literature, the course will assist clinicians in making sense of who, how, why and when to use a particular upper limb intervention. The course will provide clinicians with the confidence and practical skills to implement interventions such as modified constraint-induced movement therapy, bimanual occupational therapy and goal-directed training. It will focus on practical considerations, such as the individual characteristics of the child (age, cognition, motivation) and the importance of environment and behaviour management to ensure the most effective outcomes. Participants will also learn how to objectively evaluate treatment outcomes. Detailed course notes and reference material will be provided.


COURSE DATES

To check your local time zone, please refer to https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/meeting.html

Session 1: Tuesday 24th August: 8:00am to 11:30am ( London), 9:00am to 12:30pm (Berlin), 5:00pm to 8:30pm (Melbourne)

Session 2: Wednesday 25th August: 8:00am to 11:30am (London), 9:00am to 12:30pm (Berlin), 5:00pm to 8:30pm (Melbourne)

Session 3: Tuesday 31st August:8:00am to 12:00pm (London), 9:00am to 1:00pm (Berlin), 5:00pm to 9:00pm (Melbourne)

Session 4: Wednesday 1st September: 8:00am to 12:00pm (London), 9:00am to 1:00pm (Berlin), 5:00pm to 9:00pm (Melbourne)

COURSE OBJECTIVES

Upon completion of this course, participants will be able to:

  1. Understand and define functional hand use.
  2. Recognise evidence-based interventions for the upper limb.
  3. Understand the practical, environmental and contextual considerations for implementation of modified constraint-induced movement therapy, bimanual therapy and goal-directed training.
  4. Understand and adopt models of practice that consider important transitions throughout childhood.
  5. Understand and improve confidence in who, how, why and when to chose a particular upper limb intervention.
  6. Objectively evaluate the outcomes of specific interventions.
  7. Understand the latest evidence for brain plasticity and impact on the timing and choice of intervention.

INSTRUCTORS

Associate Professor Brian Hoare

WHO SHOULD ATTEND

Occupational Therapists and Physiotherapists

WHAT’S INCLUDED

Registration includes a course manual, access to electronic copies of course references.

COURSE PREREQUISITES

Nil

GENERAL COURSE ENQUIRIES

For more information about course content, or if you have any questions about booking a place on this course, please contact admin@cpteaching.com

COURSE REGISTRATION

Please note, CPteaching has a strict policy of not holding places for courses. All registrations must be processed via the CPteaching website.

SKU: 27654 Category:
Product Quantity

Functional Hand Use Online (August/September) - Session 1

31 SEATS LEFT

1

Functional Hand Use Online (August/September) - Session 2

31 SEATS LEFT

1

Functional Hand Use Online (August/September) - Session 3

31 SEATS LEFT

1

Functional Hand Use Online (August/September) - Session 4

31 SEATS LEFT

1

31 SEATS LEFT