Functional Hand Use Online – Aus/USA/Canada/NZ April/May 2024

AUD $627.00

3 SEATS LEFT

Event Date:
Start: April 23, 2024 ,
End: May 1, 2024 ,

Event Location:
This course is online

Description

COURSE DESCRIPTION

This comprehensive, practical and interactive online training course across 4 sessions focuses on the implementation of evidence-based interventions for children with unilateral cerebral palsy (CP). Using the latest evidence and knowledge from scientific literature, the course will assist clinicians in making sense of who, how, why and when to chose a particular upper limb intervention. The course will provide clinicians with the confidence and practical skills to implement interventions such as modified constraint-induced movement therapy, bimanual occupational therapy and goal-directed training. It will focus on practical considerations, such as the individual characteristics of the child (age, cognition, motivation) and the importance of environment and behaviour management to ensure the most effective outcomes. Participants will also learn how to objectively evaluate treatment outcomes. Detailed course notes and reference material will be provided.

COURSE DATES

This course has been scheduled for time zones in Australia, New Zealand, USA, and Canada. To check your local time zone, please refer to https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/meeting.html

Session 1:

Mon 22nd April: 3:00pm to 7:00pm (Vancouver), 3:00pm to 7:00pm (Los Angeles), 6:00pm to 10:00pm (Washington DC).

Tues 23rd April: 8:00am to 12:00am (Melbourne), 10:00am to 2:000pm (Auckland).

Session 2:

Tues 23rd April: 3:00pm to 6:30pm (Vancouver), 3:00pm to 6:30pm (Los Angeles), 6:00pm to 9:30pm (Washington DC).

Wed 24th April: 8:00am to 11:30am (Melbourne), 10:00am to 1:30pm (Auckland).

Session 3:

Mon 29th April: 3:00pm to 7:00pm (Vancouver), 3:00pm to 7:00pm (Los Angeles), 6:00pm to 10:00pm (Washington DC).

Tues 30th April: 8:00am to 12:00pm (Melbourne), 10:00am to 2:00pm (Auckland).

Session 4:

Tues 30th April: 3:00pm to 7:00pm (Vancouver), 3:00pm to 7:00pm (Los Angeles), 6:00pm to 10:00pm (Washington DC).

Wed 1st May: 8:00am to 12:00pm (Melbourne), 10:00am to 2:00pm (Auckland).

COURSE OBJECTIVES

Upon completion of this course, participants will be able to:

  1. Understand and define functional hand use.
  2. Recognize evidence-based interventions for the upper limb.
  3. Understand the practical, environmental, and contextual considerations for the implementation of modified constraint-induced movement therapy, bimanual therapy, and goal-directed training.
  4. Understand and adopt models of practice that consider important transitions throughout childhood.
  5. Understand and improve confidence in who, how, why, and when to choose a particular upper limb intervention.
  6. Objectively evaluate the outcomes of specific interventions.
  7. Understand the latest evidence for brain plasticity and its impact on the timing and choice of intervention.

INSTRUCTORS

Adjunct Associate Professor Brian Hoare

WHO SHOULD ATTEND

Occupational Therapists and Physiotherapists

WHAT’S INCLUDED

Registration includes a course manual, access to electronic copies of course references.

COURSE PREREQUISITES

Nil

GENERAL COURSE ENQUIRIES

For more information about course content, or if you have any questions about booking a place on this course, please contact admin@cpteaching.com

COURSE REGISTRATION

Please note, CPTeaching has a strict policy of not holding places for courses. All registrations must be processed via the CPTeaching website.

REGISTRATION CLOSING DATE

14th April 2024.

This course is online

3 SEATS LEFT

Course Registration Form

SKU: 28729 Category: